Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Idaho to California: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from Idaho to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your Idaho license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Moving from Idaho to California is an application, not a transfer: California reviews your Idaho certificate and issues a California certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what California still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.

What changes, Idaho → California

Side-by-side: Idaho vs California (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-07-21
Idaho (current)California (destination)
Application fee$75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional)$100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations)
Processing timeNot stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the applicationNot stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks
Licensing authorityIdaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher CertificationCalifornia Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — California sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm California's current requirements on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a comparable professional-level out-of-state teaching credential (intern, apprentice, emergency, temporary/non-renewable, or exam-conditioned documents do not qualify).
  5. Submit official transcripts verifying a bachelor's or higher degree.
  6. Complete fingerprint/Livescan clearance (Credential Leaflet CL-271).
  7. Clear the five-year Preliminary credential by completing a Commission-approved Teacher Induction program and earning a California English learner authorization (Route 1); 2+ years of out-of-state experience exempts you from induction (Route 2).
  8. Demonstrate subject-matter competence (CSET or an approved option) to earn the Clear credential.
  9. Pay the fees ($100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations)). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does California accept an Idaho teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from Idaho to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your Idaho license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.

Will I have to retake tests moving from Idaho to California?

No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.

Can I teach in California right away?

Not until the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) issues your California certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.

What does the Idaho-to-California transfer cost and how long does it take?

$100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]